Indian democracy is old. India’s populace isn’t.

    A nation as young as ours needs leaders who truly represent it. There’s a gap of both age and information – closing these rifts is the first step towards enabling accountability and action. It’s high time that our age is considered a serious political identity: one that paves the way for a future that is democratic, inclusive, and sustainable. The YIF Age Tracker is a comprehensive party-based dataset that helps you assess which political parties platform the nation’s youth. India’s flourishing youth is the future – why should our political representatives be stuck in the past? YIF presents the Age Tracker, a comprehensive party-wise dataset that helps you assess which political parties accurately represent the nation’s youth.

    National Party Data

    Check out cards for every party’s key political representatives to assess which parties actively seek to include the voices of the youth in their ethos.


    All India Trinamool Congress

    Party President: Mamata Bannerjee, 68
    Lok Sabha Leader: Sudip Bandyopadhyay, 70
    Rajya Sabha Leader: Derek O'Brien, 62
    Youth Wing: All India Trinamool Youth Congress
    Youth Wing President: Abhishek Banerjee, 35


    Bhartiya Janata Party

    Party President: Jagat Prakash Nadda, 62
    Lok Sabha Leader: Narendra Modi, 72
    Rajya Sabha Leader: Thawar Chand Gehlot, 74
    Youth Wing: Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha
    Youth Wing President: L.S. Tejasvi Surya, 32


    Bahujan Samaj Party

    Party President: Mayawati, 67
    Lok Sabha Leader: Kunwar Danish Ali, 47
    Rajya Sabha Leader: Satish Mishra, 70
    Youth Wing: No Youth Wing
    Youth Wing President: NA


    Communist Party of India

    Party President: D. Raja, 73
    Lok Sabha Leader: K. Subbarayan, 75
    Rajya Sabha Leader: Binoy Viswam, 67
    Youth Wing: All India Youth Federation
    Youth Wing President: Aftab Alam Khan, 33


    Communist Party of India

    Party President: Sitaram Yechury, 70
    Lok Sabha Leader: A. M. Ariff, 58
    Rajya Sabha Leader: Elamaram Kareem, 69
    Youth Wing: Democratic Youth Federation of India
    Youth Wing President: Mohammed Riyaz, 47


    Indian National Congress

    Party President: Sonia Gandhi, 76 (Interim)
    Lok Sabha Leader: Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, 66
    Rajya Sabha Leader: Mallikarjun Kharge, 80
    Youth Wing: Indian Youth Congress
    Youth Wing President: Srinivas B V, 42


    National People's Party

    Party President: Conrad Sangma, 45
    Lok Sabha Leader: Agatha Sangma, 42
    Rajya Sabha Leader: Wanweiroy Kharlukhi, 65
    Youth Wing: National People's Youth Front
    Youth Wing President: Nickey Nongkhlaw


    Nationalist Congress Party

    Party President: Sharad Pawar, 82
    Lok Sabha Leader: Supriya Sule, 53
    Rajya Sabha Leader: BSharad Pawar, 82
    Youth Wing: Nationalist Youth Congress
    Youth Wing President: Dheeraj Sharma, 36

    Designation Data

    Browse the ages of office holders across India's national parties, and how they compare to India’s median age – 28.4 years. Hover over the points for more detail.

    Youth Contrast

    Check out how our parliament measures up as compared to the age of our nation.